Twitter Expert Connect Reflection

These past months have been quite interesting with the Twitter Connect assignment. We have been given the task to come up with a research question and then get in contact with people/organizations that have a deeper and more thorough understanding of the topic.

For out Part one we were told to find professors or people with a higher understanding. We were demanded to follow 8 to ten people but I just follow 10 to get the highest marks possible. Our next step was to make a list and add the people we followed. The people I followed: ( @DFSHurts, @nomoreinjuries, @sport_injuries, @IJMInjuryClinic, @Dr_schwartsman, @Mr_VikasVedi, @3riversclinic, @jhonvelyvis, @alainealbaz, @mikeshepardmd).

My research question is : What impact/effect does sports injuries has on your life. The people I followed were all related to sports injuries and some of them were actually orthopedic surgeons.They are doctors that normally focus on bones, ligaments and muscles. So they are basically sports doctors.

For part two is where we started asking for information. The reason we did not ask for information in Part one was because we did not want to seem creepy we tried to seem serious and kind of formal. We had to summarize every class period how it was going to show them that we are actual active students that are seeking information. We also had to ask them questions personally and also politely so they don’t feel forced to answer.

When it came to asking questions we had to be kind of formal but really polite. On all of my messages I introduced the topic with a formal greeting then I ended with a polite ending for example looking forward to working with you.When the time for responding came it was the most difficult. The results I got were horrible because I expected to get more results because of the people I followed. Out of all the ten people I followed I only got back one response. The response was from @IJMInjuryClinic. He responded that he was happy to help. The other nine I am not sure what happened.

I feel like they saw my messages but they were busy or just didn’t wan’t to respond. None of them followed me back and only @IJMInjuryClinic offered assistance. I think in the future you could use this process in school by asking professors/ people who have more knowledge of the topic that you do.

Overall I think that this was a good experience and also an eye opener because I would’ve never thought to ask someone on social media for information! This would also be really useful in school or out. Just to get more sophisticated information.

Citations:
Haggstrom,Mikael. “w:Collage of varius w:Gray’s muscle pictures by Mikael Häggström (User:Mikael Häggström)”. Haggstrom,mikael, 30 December 2007, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Muscles_anterior_labeled.png.

Ramspott, Frank. “Three Question Marks Drawing – Illustration”. istockphoto, istock,February 26 2014,https://www.istockphoto.com/vector/three-question-marks-drawing-gm475404635-35679130

Daderot, ” Photograph of east facade, Weld Hall, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.”. Wikipedia, Daderot, 31 March 2007, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Weld_Hall,_Harvard_University_-_east_facade.JPG.

Strahan, Sarah.” Recruitment Trends 2016 – Sophisticated Data Analytics”. Linkedin, linkedin, September 22 2015, https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/recruitment-trends-2016-sophisticated-data-sarah-strahan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*